Matt Every



every-matt-041912-640x360Every was born in Daytona Beach, Florida. He attended Mainland High School in Daytona Beach, where he played for the Mainland Buccaneers men’s golf team. He was recognized as the Volusia County Golfer of the Year for four consecutive years, and was an all-state selection after his junior and senior seasons.

Every received an athletic scholarship to attend the University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida, where he played for coach Buddy Alexander’s Florida Gators men’s golf team in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) competition from 2003 to 2006. During his career as a Gator golfer, he was a three-time first-team All-Southeastern Conference (SEC) selection (2004, 2005, 2006), and a four-time All-American (2003, 2004, 2005, 2006). As an amateur, he played in the 2005 U.S. Open at Pinehurst in North Carolina and finished in a tie for 28th place. He was the recipient of the Ben Hogan Award, recognizing the best amateur golfer in the United States, in 2006.

Every turned professional after completing his NCAA eligibility in 2006. Before he found success on any major golf tour after turning professional, he competed on The Golf Channel’s original series The Big Break in Mesquite, Nevada.

Every played in a select few PGA Tour and Nationwide Tour events between 2006 and 2007 until he found a permanent home on the Nationwide Tour in 2008. In his second start in 2008, he finished runner-up in the Mexico Open. He finished the season with four top-10 finishes and made $180,000 in earnings, just outside the top 25 in earnings.

In his 2009 sophomore year on the Nationwide Tour, Every was ranked forty-ninth on the money list going into the Nationwide Tour Championship, needing a third place finish or better to obtain his PGA Tour card for 2010. He had made fifteen of twenty-five cuts and had three top-10 finishes entering the season’s final event. He shot a second-round 63 to take the 36-hole lead, a lead he did not relinquish. He won the event by three shots over Nationwide Tour money leader Michael Sim. The win vaulted him to tenth on the money list, and qualifying him as a PGA Tour rookie for 2010.